Campuses given time to Comply

Written By Jane Njeri Thuo

Seven out of eight university campuses that were facing closure got a reprieve after they were given more time to legalise their location.

The campuses now have 12 months, from July 31, to move from bus parks and set up libraries, as required by the universities law.

Commission for University Education Chairman Henry Thairu said they will be closed if they don’t comply. The eight satellite campuses which are located in Nairobi,got the reprieve from the commission’s appeals committee. They had appealed against being shut in six months from June.

The appealants were St Paul’s University, Egerton University, Africa Nazarene University, South Eastern Kenya University, Dedan Kimathi University of Technology, Multimedia University of Kenya, and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology did not appeal against as its moving its campus.

Prof Kairu said: “In the meantime, each university campus is allowed to continue teaching as it seeks to comply with the regulations.”

The campuses would be inspected again after the 12 months.

Prof Kairu said the commission considered the appeal and consulted the Education ministry and the universities. The universities asked for time to comply.

According to the regulations, a campus should be the lowest unit of any local university and should have localised administrative structures clearly linked with the main institution.

The rules also require the universities to identify the location of the campus, academic resources, staff dedicated to it and the courses it will be offering.

Reference :